Cromer Golf Club’s origin goes back to 4 August 1926 when a group of gentlemen met in the office of F.W.A Eagar at Manly. They resolved to form the Cromer Syndicate pending formation of Cromer Ltd. with the object of constructing a Golf Course. F.W.A Eagar was appointed manager and authorised to purchase one hundred and five acres of land at South Creek on Narrabeen Lake, known as Cromer, from A. Johnson for 11,750 pounds.
By Mid 1927 Cromer Ltd. was in financial trouble and sold out to Max Cooper, a builder of repute for 19,000 pounds, including the surveyors markings, for an 18 hole course.
He immediately floated the company, Dee Why Golf Links Ltd. and on 21 Ocotober, 1927, released a prospectus inviting the public to subscribe for 15,000 $1 shares and 600 $25 debentures.
On 8 June 1929 the Club – then known as Dee Why Golf Links Ltd. – was officially opened by the Deputy Premier, the Hon. E.A Buttenshaw, who drove a ball off the first tee.
The ball was a Silver King mounted on crossed golf clubs on a wooden base and inscribed.
18 holes were completed for play in 1932.
On 31 March 1940 the Dee Why Golf Club became Cromer Country Club Ltd.
In 1955 the name of the Club was changed to Cromer Golf Club Ltd.
The golf course layout has had a number of changes over the years, the most recent being those made in 2003 -2005.
Course architect James Wilcher (Pacific Dunes and The Cut amongst many others) was engaged to enhance Cromer as both a test of golf and a golfing experience. All tees were rebuilt, 14 new greens were constructed, fairway bunkers added and a water course was opened up and brought into play on a number of holes.
The result is a wonderful golf course and you are invited to experience it as a member, a guest of a member or a corporate golf participant.